Pet friendly recreation areas



Manatee Season
Nov. 15 - March 31
Read Boaters Manatee Laws

Florida State Parks

Pets are OK in "designated areas" of Florida State Parks, including campgrounds. For specifics,
read State Park Pet Policies.

Special Note: September is State Park Literacy Month during which time visitors can enjoy free entry into any state park except Skyway Fishing Pier State Park.

National Parks in Florida

The Dry Tortugas National Park is the only Florida National Park that allows leashed dogs. This park is in the Key West area and is 1 of only 14 national parks across the country. This is a very environmentally-sensitive area with many rules and regulations about where dogs are permitted. For example, they are permitted on Garden Key, but not inside Fort Jefferson, or on any other Key in the park. Pets must be leashed and controlled at all times. Visitors are expected to clean up after themselves and their pet as they progress around this beautiful location. See
National Park Regulations.

The Web's # 1 guide to pet friendly
recreational areas in Florida

Here's a list of dog parks and dog friendly beaches where well behaved pets - and their people - are permitted. Some locations require leashes, others don't, so be prepared as you head out the door.

Altamonte Springs (Seminole County)

Amelia Island/Fernandina Bch (Nassau County)

Apollo Beach (Hillsborough County)

Apopka (Orange County)

Auburndale (Polk County)

Aventura (Miami-Dade County)

Boca Raton (Palm Beach County)

Bonita Springs (Lee County)

Boynton Beach (Palm Beach County)

Bradenton (Manatee County)

Carrabelle (Franklin County)

Cape Canaveral (Brevard County)

Cape Coral (Lee County)

Cape San Blas (Gulf County)

Casselberry (Seminole County)

Cedar Key (Levy County)

Charlotte Harbor (Charlotte County)

Clearwater (Pinellas County)

Cocoa Beach (Brevard County)

Coconut Creek (Broward County)

Coconut Grove (Dade County)

Coral Springs (Broward County)

Davie (Broward County)

Daytona/Holly Hill (Volusia County)

DeBary (Volusia County)

Deerfield Beach (Broward County)

Deland (Volusia County)

Delray Beach (Palm Beach County)

Deltona (Volusia County)

Destin (Okaloosa County)

Dunedin (Pinellas County)

Englewood (Charlotte County)

Flagler Beach (Flagler County)

Florida Keys (Monroe County)

Fort Walton (Okaloosa County)

Ft. Lauderdale (Broward County)

Ft. Myers (Lee County)

Ft. Pierce (St. Lucie County)

Gainesville (Alachua County)

Grayton Beach (Walton County)

Gulf Breeze (Santa Rosa County)

Gulfport (Pinellas County)

Hallandale Beach (Broward County)

Hialeah (Dade County)

Holiday (Pasco County)

Holly Hill (Volusia County)

Hollywood (Broward County)

Homestead (Miami-Dade County)

Indian Harbor Beach (Brevard County)

Indian Rocks Beach (Pinellas County)

Inverness (Citrus County)

Islamorada (Monroe County)

Jacksonville/The Beaches (Duval County)

Juno Beach (Palm Beach County)

Jupiter (Palm Beach County)

Kissimmee (Osceola County)

Lady Lake (Lake County)

Lakeland (Polk County)

Largo (Pinellas County)

Leesburg (Lake County)

Lutz (Hillsborough County)

Lynn Haven (Bay County)

Madeira Beach (Pinellas County)

Madison (Madison County)

Manatee (Collier County)

Mango (Hillsborough County)

Marathon (Monroe County)

Marco Island (Collier County)

Melbourne/Melbourne Beach
(Brevard County)

Merritt Island (Brevard County)

Miami (Dade County)

Miami Beach (Dade County)

Miami/Key Biscayne (Dade County)

Miami Springs (Dade County)

Milton (Santa Rosa County)

Mount Dora (Lake County)

Mulberry (Polk County)

Naples (Collier County)

New Port Richey (Pasco County)

New Smyrna/New Smyrna Beach
(Volusia County)

Navarre (Santa Rosa County)

Niceville (Okaloosa County)

Oakland Park (Broward County)

Ocala (Marion County)

Oldsmar (Pinellas County)

Orlando (Orange County)

Oxford (Sumter County)

Palm Bay (Brevard County)

Palm Beach (Palm Beach County)

Palm Beach Gardens (Palm Beach County)

Palm Coast (Flagler County)

Palmetto (Manatee County)

Palmetto Bay (Miami-Dade County)

Palm Harbor (Pinellas County)

Palm Valley (St. Johns County)

Panama City/Panama City Beach
(Bay County)

Parkland (Broward County)

Parrish (Manatee County)

Passe-A-Grille (Pinellas County)

Pembroke Pines (Broward County)

Pensacola (Escambia County)

Plantation (Broward County)

Pompano Beach (Broward County)

Ponce Inlet (Volusia County)

Ponte Vedra Beach (St. Johns County)

Port Charlotte (Charlotte County)

Port St. John (Brevard County)

Port Orange (Volusia County)

Punta Gorda (Charlotte County)

Rotonda (Charlotte County)

Royal Palm Beach (Palm Beach County)

Ruskin (Hillsborough County)

St. Augustine (St. Johns County)

St. George Island (Franklin County)

St. Petersburg (Pinellas County)

Santa Rosa Beach (Walton County)

Sanford (Seminole County)

Sanibel Island (Lee County)

Sarasota (Sarasota County)

Satellite Beach (Brevard County)

Sebastian (Indian River County)

Seminole (Pinellas County)

Spring Hill (Hernando County)

Stuart (Martin County)

Sun Center City (Hillsborough)

Sunrise (Broward County)

Tallahassee (Leon County)

Tamarac (Broward County)

Tampa (Hillsborough County)

Tampa Bay Area

Editor's Note:  The Tampa Bay Area listings include the cities of Clearwater, Dunedin, Indian Rocks Beach, Largo, Palm Harbor, St. Peterburg, Tarpon Springs, Tierra Verde and Seminole
(all Pinellas County), and Tampa (Hillsborough County.) Most Florida residents know these cities as "The Tampa Bay area" and most visitors know cities by city names, so we've listed them both ways.

Tarpon Springs (Pinellas County)

Tavares (Lake County)

Tierra Verde (Pinellas County)

Titusville (Brevard County)

Treasure Island (Pinellas County)

Umatilla (Lake County)

Venice (Sarasota County)

Vero Beach (Indian River County)

Viera (Brevard County)

Wellington (Palm Beach County)

Weston (Broward County)

West Palm Beach (Palm Beach County)

Wilton Manor (Broward County)

Winter Garden (Orange County)

Winter Park (Orange County)

Winter Springs (Seminole County)

Zephyrhills (Pasco County)

Editor's Note: Because we can't visit each one of these on a regular basis, we appreciate your help in keeping this list up to date. If you know of a pet friendly place to play in Florida and it's not listed above, or you know of one listed above that's now closed or restricted, please email


Did you know?

Florida is home to five species of sea turtles: Hawksbill, Kemp’s Ridley, Loggerhead, Leatherback and Green.

Hard to believe, but...
Sea turtles make 40,000 to 84,000 nests along our shores every year. Share the beach with nesting
May through September is Sea Turtle Season

Is your beach water safe?
Florida Healthy Beaches Program
Testing results for various cities.

Shore Bird Alert April-Aug. No humans or dogs in posted areas

National Forests in Florida

There's three:
1. Apalachicola National Forest in Wakulla County
2. Ocala National Forest, mostly in Marion County
3. Osceola National Forest, spread across both Baker and Columbia Counties.

According to the USDA Forest Service, dogs are permitted in national forests, but must be under physical restraint at all times when you are hiking. In campgrounds, dogs must be on a leash of not more than six feet and under control. Pets are not permitted in any swimming, picnicking or day-use areas.